Skip to content

Last checked

Airalo Pricing Review: 240 Same-Size Plans Against HelloRoam (Oct 2026)

HelloRoam is the top pick over Airalo on price, cheaper on 187 of 240 same-size fixed plans read 30 Oct 2026, with Airalo cheaper on 52. HelloRoam refunds an unactivated eSIM for 180 days. Airalo covers 200+ destinations, against the 185 that HelloRoam sells.

Airalo destinations
200+
Airalo refund
14 days
Airalo rubric
5.5/10
Airalo price cells won
45 of 367
Price

The five lowest cost-per-GB rows in this table

Each row is one destination's lowest plan from the top pick, sorted by cost per GB, from the catalogue read 29 Oct 2026. Airalo's prices against these plans follow in the next section.

Lowest cost-per-GB rows in this site's price table, lowest first. Catalogue read 29 Oct 2026.
DestinationPlanPrice$/GB
Thailand50GB, 7 days$14.38$0.29
Germany50GB, 30 days$30.60$0.61
France50GB, 30 days$30.60$0.61
Japan50GB, 30 days$30.60$0.61
Guadeloupe10GB, 30 days$6.42$0.64

The first row is Thailand, 50GB for 7 days at $14.38, or $0.29 per GB.

The dearest destination floor in this table is Monaco, at $22.52 per GB, across 185 destinations with a published row.

Price check, 30 Oct 2026

Where Airalo was cheaper than HelloRoam

On 30 Oct 2026, this site read Airalo's prices on airalo.com, in US dollars, in 42 destinations, and set each against the same-size plan of the top pick. HelloRoam was cheaper on 187 of 240, with 1 tie. Airalo was cheaper on the 52 plans below, 27 of them 20 GB or 50 GB plans.

Same-size plans where Airalo was cheaper, read 30 Oct 2026.
DestinationSizeAiraloHelloRoam
Argentina3 GB$10.00, 7 days$10.62, 30 days
Austria50 GB$29.00, 30 days$39.60, 30 days
Canada3 GB$9.00, 7 days$9.49, 30 days
China50 GB$49.00, 30 days$53.99, 30 days
Colombia5 GB$16.00, 30 days$18.00, 30 days
Colombia20 GB$39.00, 30 days$51.00, 30 days
Croatia50 GB$35.00, 30 days$50.40, 30 days
Egypt10 GB$33.00, 30 days$34.49, 30 days
Egypt20 GB$42.00, 30 days$43.99, 30 days
Global1 GB$8.50, 7 days$13.68, 7 days
Global1 GB$8.50, 7 days$26.28, 365 days
Global3 GB$24.00, 30 days$34.92, 30 days
Global5 GB$35.00, 60 days$53.28, 30 days
Global10 GB$57.00, 180 days$95.76, 30 days
Global20 GB$66.00, 365 days$161.43, 30 days
Greece50 GB$42.00, 30 days$44.29, 30 days
Iceland50 GB$49.00, 30 days$51.25, 30 days
India1 GB$4.00, 3 days$4.74, 7 days
India3 GB$9.50, 7 days$10.88, 30 days
India5 GB$14.00, 30 days$15.89, 30 days
India10 GB$24.00, 30 days$27.31, 30 days
India20 GB$38.00, 30 days$48.35, 30 days
Israel10 GB$11.50, 30 days$17.82, 30 days
Israel20 GB$16.50, 30 days$25.20, 30 days
Israel50 GB$39.00, 30 days$66.61, 30 days
Mexico3 GB$8.50, 7 days$8.59, 30 days
Mexico5 GB$13.00, 30 days$13.48, 30 days
Mexico10 GB$18.50, 30 days$24.59, 30 days
Mexico20 GB$31.00, 30 days$37.02, 30 days
Mexico50 GB$45.00, 30 days$101.83, 30 days
Morocco1 GB$4.00, 3 days$4.84, 7 days
Morocco3 GB$8.00, 7 days$14.05, 30 days
Morocco5 GB$22.00, 30 days$22.01, 30 days
Morocco20 GB$43.00, 30 days$46.00, 30 days
Morocco50 GB$49.00, 30 days$93.84, 30 days
Netherlands50 GB$36.00, 30 days$40.22, 30 days
New Zealand50 GB$49.00, 30 days$58.99, 30 days
Peru20 GB$41.00, 30 days$44.85, 30 days
Philippines20 GB$30.00, 30 days$30.59, 30 days
Philippines50 GB$48.00, 30 days$75.61, 30 days
Portugal50 GB$35.00, 30 days$38.43, 30 days
Singapore1 GB$4.00, 3 days$5.49, 7 days
South Korea50 GB$49.00, 30 days$55.49, 30 days
Switzerland50 GB$45.00, 30 days$50.99, 30 days
Thailand50 GB$27.50, 30 days$48.00, 30 days
United Arab Emirates5 GB$12.00, 30 days$14.40, 30 days
United Arab Emirates10 GB$20.00, 30 days$26.10, 30 days
United Arab Emirates20 GB$34.00, 30 days$39.00, 30 days
United States50 GB$42.00, 30 days$52.99, 30 days
Vietnam5 GB$11.00, 30 days$11.09, 30 days
Vietnam10 GB$18.00, 30 days$19.31, 30 days
Vietnam50 GB$49.00, 30 days$78.63, 30 days

On unlimited stays of 7, 15 and 30 days, the top pick was cheaper than Airalo on 66 of 115. Airalo's unlimited plans gave 3 or 5 GB a day at full speed, more than the top pick's daily allowance in most destinations.

Coverage and policy

Destinations, refunds and support languages for five providers

Rows follow this site's rubric score, highest first, method of 30 Oct 2026. Destination counts and refund windows come from this site's ledger. The top pick publishes no support-language count: support replies in your own language. No rival support-language or checkout-currency count has a dated source here, so those cells read Not stated.

Destinations, refund window, checkout currencies, support languages and rubric composite for five eSIM providers.
ProviderDestinationsRefundCurrenciesSupport languagesRubric
HelloRoam185180 days31+Not stated9.0/10
Holafly200+180 daysNot statedNot stated6.3/10
Nomad20030 daysNot statedNot stated5.9/10
Airalo200+14 daysNot statedNot stated5.5/10
SailyNot stated30 daysNot statedNot stated4.0/10

HelloRoam, an eSIM platform, sells 185 destinations, refunds an unactivated eSIM for 180 days and takes 31+ checkout currencies through Stripe.

Airalo refunds within 14 days, per this site's policy record (applies to eSIMs that have not been installed).

The rubric score is the mean of five dated categories at equal weight: price, plan types, checkout and languages, refund window and coverage. It is not a test result or a review score.

Competitor comparison

Airalo against the four other providers

Airalo and Nomad

Nomad lists 200 destinations and refunds within 30 days. On this site's rubric, Nomad scores 5.9 out of 10 and Airalo 5.5 out of 10. Nomad was the cheapest of all five in 95 of 367 price cells, against 45 for Airalo.

Nomad full review →

Airalo and Saily

Saily refunds within 30 days. On this site's rubric, Saily scores 4.0 out of 10 and Airalo 5.5 out of 10. This site does not state a Saily destination count.

Saily full review →

Airalo and Holafly

Holafly lists 200+ destinations and refunds within 180 days. Holafly sells only unlimited plans; Airalo sells fixed and unlimited plans. On this site's rubric, Airalo scores 5.5 out of 10 and Holafly 6.3 out of 10.

The Airalo vs Holafly comparison and the unlimited eSIM page cover the two plan types.

Scores

Airalo category scores on this site's rubric

Category
Score
Input
Price
1.2/10
cheapest of all in 45 of 367 price cells
Plan types
9.8/10
fixed plans in 42 and unlimited plans in 40 of 42 destinations
Checkout and languages
Not stated
not stated
Refund window
0.8/10
14 days
Coverage
10.0/10
200+ destinations

Airalo's 200+ destinations give it a Coverage score of 10.0, the top Coverage score of the five. Airalo's composite of 5.5 out of 10 places it fourth of five; a category with no dated source is left out of the average, not scored zero.

FAQ

Airalo pricing questions

On coverage, Airalo covers 200+ destinations to HelloRoam's 185. On price, HelloRoam was cheaper on 187 of 240 same-size fixed plans read on 30 Oct 2026, and Airalo on 52. Airalo was the cheapest of all five in 45 of 367 price cells. Airalo scores 5.5 out of 10 on this site's rubric, fourth of five.
Airalo's per-GB price depends on the destination and the plan size. On 30 Oct 2026, this site read Airalo's prices in 42 destinations on airalo.com, in US dollars; each destination page in that set prints Airalo's plans with their per-GB rate. Larger plans cost less per GB at every provider.
No. In the 30 Oct 2026 price check, Airalo was the cheapest of all five in 45 of 367 price cells, against 207 for HelloRoam and 95 for Nomad. Airalo was cheaper than HelloRoam on 52 same-size fixed plans, listed on this page.
This site holds no dated count of Airalo's checkout currencies, so it states none. HelloRoam takes 31+ checkout currencies through Stripe, with Apple Pay and Google Pay express checkout on its website and app.
Airalo refunds within 14 days, per this site's policy record (applies to eSIMs that have not been installed).
Yes. On 30 Oct 2026, Airalo sold unlimited plans in most destinations checked, with 3 or 5 GB a day at full speed. HelloRoam was cheaper on 66 of 115 unlimited stays compared with Airalo, and the top pick's unlimited plans give less full-speed data a day in most places. The unlimited eSIM page lists both.
Data source

How this review is built

Airalo prices were read on airalo.com on 30 Oct 2026, in US dollars, and the other rows come from the catalogue read 29 Oct 2026. Destination counts and refund windows come from this site's ledger. Rubric scores follow the method of 30 Oct 2026. Price verification method →

Direct Answers

What is the difference between eSIM and SIM card?

An eSIM is a digital SIM built into your phone. A physical SIM is a removable plastic card. eSIM activates instantly via QR code without visiting a store. Physical SIM requires a trip to a carrier store or airport kiosk. Both connect to the same mobile networks. Most phones made after 2020 support eSIM.

What are the disadvantages of eSIM?

eSIM disadvantages include limited phone compatibility (pre-2020 devices lack support), inability to physically swap between phones, and some countries requiring IMEI registration within a set period. eSIM plans also cannot be resold or given to others. For travelers, these drawbacks are typically outweighed by instant activation and lower cost.

Can I use eSIM and physical SIM at the same time?

Most modern phones support dual SIM: one physical SIM slot plus one or more eSIM profiles. This lets you keep your home number active on the physical SIM while using an eSIM for local data abroad. iPhone 13+ and Samsung Galaxy S21+ support this configuration. iPhone 14 US models use two eSIM profiles with no physical SIM slot.